Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Skip To Main Content

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community


7 Learning Areas

Learning together, Achieving forever

At Shirley Park we teach an exciting and creative curriculum.  Our aim is to encourage our learners to achieve their very best and to ensure they develop their skills and talents in all aspects of intellectual, social and physical development. 

Early Years Foundation Stage

Nursery (3-4 years) (Long Lane Campus)
Reception (4-5 years) (Stroud Green Campus)

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning and development. These valuable experiences from Nursery through Reception give the children a secure foundation in learning which supports their future school career. Below we have given examples of what the child will be able to do by the time they leave Reception and go into Year 1.

Learning areas are split into Prime Areas (Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development) and Specific Areas (Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the world, Expressive Art and Design).



We teach these subjects through a topic-based curriculum that encompasses the National Curriculum.  We provide high levels of enjoyment and creativity so that children are inspired to learn. 
Supporting Your Nursery Child at Home

Early Years Termly Plans